City of San Antonio



Minutes Intergovernmental Relations

2021 – 2023 Council Members Manny Pelaez, Dist. 8, Chair Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Dist. 4 | Teri Castillo, Dist. 5 Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6 | Rosie Castro, District 7

Friday, April 14, 2023

9:00 AM

Council Briefing Room

The Intergovernmental Relations Committee convened a regular meeting in City Hall at 9:07 AM. Deputy City Clerk Aurora Perkins took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Committee Members present:

Members Present:	Manny Pelaez, Chair
	Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Member
	Teri Castillo, Member
	Rosie Castro, Member
Members Absent:	Melissa Cabello Havrda, Member

Approval of Minutes

1. Approval of minutes from the March 8, 2023 meeting of the Intergovernmental Relations Committee.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia moved to Approve the minutes of the March 8, 2023 Intergovernmental Relations Committee meeting. Councilmember Castro seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:	Pelaez, Rocha Garcia, Castro
Absent:	Castillo, Cabello Havrda

Councilmember Castillo entered the meeting after the vote on the minutes at 9:11 a.m.

Briefing and Possible Action on

2. Briefing on the 88th State Legislative Session. [Jeff Coyle, Assistant City Manager; Sally Basurto, Director, Government Affairs]

Assistant City Manager Jeff Coyle introduced the Item and updated the Committee on bills of interest associated with the 88th State Legislative Session. He provided an update on the bills associated with Emergency Service Districts (ESD) (State Bill (SB) 1794/House Bill (HB) 2633) which are political subdivisions established to provide emergency services and allowed generation of property and sales tax in order to pay for services. He noted that the Bexar County ESD and City negotiated conditions for any new ESDs due to debt requirements and equipment capability and mutual aid agreements.

Assistant City Manager Coyle noted that there were currently 12 ESD in the San Antonio area and noted that the City worked closely with all the ESDs. He added that the City worked closely with Bexar County to approve ESD applications and to date had only denied one ESD (ESD 5). He stated that ESD 5 had appealed to the State Legislature to remove the City's authority to approve ESD applications and that the State legislature requested meetings with the City and ESD 5 to address application requirements. He stated that negotiations were under way to enter into an agreement with ESD 5. He added that it was important to come to agreement especially since many ESDs would eventually become City annexed parcels. He stated that he was confident of reaching an agreement with ESD 5.

Assistant City Manager Coyle that City was approving ESD 12 at the April 20, 2023 meeting and was moving froward with future agreements. He added that the ESD requirements would be codified to assure requirements into future dates.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia thanked Assistant City Manager Coyle for the update and noted that it was important to continue to negotiate these agreements.

Chair Pelaez asked why ESD 5 had concerns in meeting agreement terms. Assistant City Manager Coyle stated that it was unclear why there was concern and that staff continued to work with developers and ESD 5 leadership to move forward in the sake of safety. Chair Pelaez stated that he felt that the ESD State leadership felt that the City was working and moving forward in good faith.

Intergovernmental Relations Director Sally Basurto provided an update on the 88th Legislative Session bills of interest. She expanded on House Bill 1204 which addressed Emergency Service Districts.

Basurto reviewed SB 2220 addressing Project Finance Zones which would allow San Antonio to have up to a 3-mile zone centered around the convention center or area in which the increment in state hotel taxes were rebated in a 30 year term.

Basurto reviewed Property Tax Relief Bills to include HB 2 on Appraisal Caps and SB3 on Homestead Exemptions. She noted that HB2 was not expected to move outside of committee but that it was still early to finalize.

Basurto reviewed HB 2127 associated with super-preemption issue that sought to prevent cities and counties from adopting or enforcing local Ordinance or orders related to any activity contained

in several State codes unless allowed to do so by State Law. She noted that this bill was expected to be continued outside of committee review.

Basurto reviewed SB 175 associated with Taxpayer funded lobbying related to the use by a political subdivision and that actions were still pending committee review.

Chair Pelaez asked how the preemption bill (HB 2127) would impact local Ordinances associated with local specific issues. Basurto stated that only the State would be allowed to govern such issues such as pay day loans, animal issues, or local permitting. Assistant City Manager Coyle expressed concern for this bill and impact to City specific issues such as pet safety, pay day loan predator lending and environmental concerns.

Councilmember Castillo asked for clarification on SB 2220 and its impact to the convention center district. Assistant City Manager Coyle provided examples of other larger Cities who had expanded their convention center districts especially around sport complex areas. He noted that the City of San Antonio was the only City that did not have an established district and it would be beneficial to build the district to address arts and entertainment efforts.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia asked how the Texas Municipal League (TML) was addressing HB 2127 on super-reemption concerns. Basurto stated that staff was working closely with all delegations to address this bill and make sure that that it did not move past the committee level. Basurto stressed that this was an all hands on deck issue. Chair Pelaez stated that based on his conversations, all delegates were ready to assist with the Item.

No action was taken on this briefed item.

Adjournment

There being no further discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 9:44 AM.

Approved

Councilmember Manny Pelaez, Chairman

Debbie Racca-Sittre, City Clerk